To be employed or not to be, that is the question.


I have recently started to believe that I’m sometimes more productive unemployed, then employed. Don’t get me wrong, I’m in no way saying the “employed” people are not productive, but they’re being productive to make a business money (People who own their own business are exempt), These people are putting all their time and effort into making a business more money then they would make all year. I have done plenty of jobs like this, and I am sure you have to; but after this long hard day of making people more money then you or I, the last thing I’m thinking about is going to the gym, for a run, or a bike ride. I may even ditch out on golfing. (pretty big maybe) All I want to do after work is train for the next couch potato Olympics.

I find when I’m “unemployed” I have more time to do the things I love. Example, I wouldn’t be writing this blog if I was employed, it just wouldn’t be realistic but here I am.  I am able to wake up whenever I want (I recommend to all unemployed people to get up EARLY, if unsure why quit your job and start sleeping in everyday) I’m able to plan my day easier because well I have no plans. Think of all the times you said to yourself ” I want to go but I can’t…. I HAVE TO WORK.” I don’t have to say that but I also don’t have a viable excuse when I want to weasel out of things, I have to be a little more creative than that. So come on! jump on this train of happiness, (I am in now way encouraging you to quit your job) quit your job! who needs it! (please keep your job)

Now I bet they’re some of you out there, that are saying to yourself “You’re wrong! I always make time for (insert past time here.) no matter what.” Well if your one of those people…good for you, I applaud your effort, I’m sure you job is inconceivably hard. I find it’s easier to pack your day full of activities, or choose to sit on your ass when unemployed. Now this is where boredom kicks in. For those people including myself that get bored easily or have a mild case of the old A.D.D you will find yourself bored most of the time unemployed, unless you find something you enjoy doing. It can be anything, building model planes, playing with Lego, dumpster diving… whatever your into (I recommend a good pair of gloves for the third example as well as an old ratty set of cloths, you’ll fit in better) just remember all work and no play makes (your name) a dull boy. well unless your job is fun and well you still get outside and do things… I just realized I don’t really like that saying anymore.

If you are one of those people who lives in the snow 10 months out of the year, your hopeless and an idiot (all employed people are exempt unless you can perform that job somewhere warmer), what are you doing living in the cold and snow? and don’t tell me “I like the snow, I can go (insert winter activity here), because you are LYING to yourself. Nobody likes that miserable crap. (alright, alright you got me, I enjoy going snowboarding in it) You are going to have a hell of time being productive outside of your house, but that’s why they’re movies and games (or instruments…I guess) bored with those? see my other posts for ideas to keep your mind from a total meltdown. You can always go on a trip somewhere warmer! excuse me? what was that? you don’t have money for a trip? I’m confused? Do you want to go the bar? you do!? huh.

As for myself, I’m just gonna continue doing what I do best, being the most unproductive unemployed person that has no intention of being a productive member of society.

Thanks for reading, now go lye on the couch, grab a beer, grab some chippy’s (preferably ripple) and enjoy a movie or 3. If I offended you in any way, I don’t care.

About jordsbored

I'm Bored.
This entry was posted in Afternoon Delight, Other, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to To be employed or not to be, that is the question.

  1. Lyndon says:

    Maybe spend some of your free time learning correct grammar and spelling you fruit cake!

  2. harrypimplebum says:

    It’s not enough that we are busy but what are we busy about?
    Thoreau

  3. Loud says:

    Personally, I like a nice mix of employment and unemployment. I like having extra money when I’m unemployed and then when that dries up, I scavenge for awhile, but then I land a job and sock away some money until I can coast for awhile. Then i really enjoy unemployment! Can’t enjoy the sweet without the bitter.

Leave a Reply

